> Latest News

GCSE Prize Giving Ceremony

December 16, 2019

St Joseph’s GCSE Prize Giving Ceremony was held on Thursday 5th December 2019.


The Class of 2014 – 2019 were welcomed back to celebrate their outstanding GCSE results and achievements. The two guest speakers for the ceremony were past pupil and former Principal of St Joseph’s Mr Hugh Mallon, and past pupil and World Iron Man Competitor, and Guinness Book World Record Breaker 2019, Mr Declan Loy. Mr Mallon spoke fondly of the students remembering them as Year 8 pupils and congratulated them on their results and all their achievements throughout their five years in St Joseph’s. He quoted from Mr Nelson Mandela  ‘It always seems impossible until it is done.’


He emphasised that he himself was proud to be a ‘St Joseph’s Man’, and reminded the pupils of our school motto,  ‘Vir Justus’, like Saint Joseph, you are ‘Just and Honourable Men’.
Mr Declan Loy spoke of his life journey; he shared his experiences of his training for the World Man Competitions and his goal to break the World Record.  He spoke of how his life changed ‘in the flick of a light bulb’ and read a poem ‘ Our Deepest Fear’ by Marianne

‘Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us…...

The boys were presented their GCSE certificates by Mr Mallon and Subject awards were presented by the Chairman of the Board of Governors Mr Ciaran Mackin, Principal Mr Declan Murray, Sponsors and  Heads of Departments.
The following students were awarded the top prize in each subject.
Mathematics – John Cunningham
Geography – Patrick McKeown
English Language – Cameron Hedderman
English Literature – Cameron Hedderman
History – Mickey MacMahon
Religion – Patrick Jordan
Science Double Award – Dawid Pasternak
Science Single Award – Reece Kearney
Art & Design – David Byrne
Music – Cameron Hedderman
PE Studies – Patrick Jordan
Top Sportsman – Calum McCusker
TD Resistant Materials – Calum McCusker
Craftsman Award – Aaron Ferris
Vocational Studies – David Byrne
ICT – Sean Bradley
EDCL – Conor O’Loughlin
Personal Development Award – Aaron Ferris
Media – Mickey MacMahon
LLW – David Byrne
Occupational Studies – Ryan Conachy
Parents’ Association Award for School Spirit – Patrick Jordan
Inspirational Award ‘Anything is Possible’ – Caolan Griffin
Special Achievement Award – Lucas Wijas
Principal’s Award for Endeavour – Euan Smith
Best Overall Student – John Cunningham
Best wishes to you all for the future.
St Joseph’s door will always be open.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

New School App Available

January 28, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

August 19, 2020

June 12, 2020

May 19, 2020

Please reload

Please reload


20 Armagh Road,

County Down,
BT35 6DH

02830 262595

02830 264420

Our Location